Am I expecting too much out of the dating scene?

I went home with a girl one night. In the morning we exchanged numbers. We went out two more times. It was so hard to get a hold of her. She wouldn't reply to texts for days, so after about a month of dating, I just texted her say I like her, and I don't hear from her enough. Then she ends it.

Now my friends girlfriend just gave me her friends number. I text her. We have a little bit of back and forth. Day two she asks me what I do for a living. I tell her. Day three she asks me the exact same question. I answer again. I text her something. No reply. So I'm thinking I wanna get this over with. I don't want to keep texting someone back and forth for weeks before meeting them. So I send out a third text asking her out. This gets her attention and she responds. Agrees to see me sometime next week. To me, this is really annoying. I don't want to be texting some strange girl for two weeks before I meet her. We basically know nothing about each other, and my attitude is to find out soon, rather than keep this pointless texting up (which she isn't paying attention to - repeating the same question, taking a long time to respond).

Am I being too demanding here? I thought generally, if you were potentially interested in someone, you would get back to them in 24 hours?
Also, if you're being set up with someone, don't you want to meet them sooner rather than later? I don't know, sort of get it out of the way and see if you like each other rather than text for weeks, meet and decide you don't like each other.

0|0
2|0

What Girls Said 2

• ..Eh.. what reason does she have to initially be interested? Her friend gave some guy her number, right? I wouldn't be very interested initially either, unless I knew the dude and I'd already expressed interest in him to someone. I agree with the sooner rather than later, but some people are apprehensive.

Dating is exhausting, however. I will definitely agree.

0|0
    0|0