I don't know what to say or do with this guy.?

I have been talking to this guy for 6 months and he came home a few weekends ago. We have talked a lot about sex but other topics as well. He was the one to mention a future relationship with me and children. When he came home right before he came over "I told him I don't want you to leave right after sex." he then proceeded to say, "we don't have to have sex, and said he wouldn't." When opening the door he grabbed me (things were mutual that we both wanted each other)... we didn't have sex but we did mess around and then he left my place in 5 mins. He told me he was coming back after his run. I waited and he gave me an excuse later why he was not coming back. But then would say "well maybe after a nap." I was crushed and I felt used! The next day he didn't see me and made excuses at least I didn't wait around. Finally that night I had enough with his excuses and asked him why do you not want to see me? I told him how he hurt me and it was not ok to do this. All that I wanted was a little of his time to chat. Then I asked him, where do we go from here? he said, "I feel like all I do is disappoint you." I boosted and went on and on why he is not a disappointment. The conversation went well and he did come over the next day before he left to go home. When he got home I was texting him and it seemed like our relationship as friends had changed. Things that I would say I wouldn't get the same response like before. Bland short answers. I was trying to be cute and funny... Then I told him the other night that I have been thinking a lot about life and it has me sad. He agreed that he has been sad too. I asked him if it was me? I got no response and then the other night he liked one of my pictures on facebook. I just want things to go back to what they were and I feel that by being honest with him I destroyed his ego. I have tried to make him feel good. He told me he struggles with emotional intimacy. I don't know what to say