Why isn't he going for the kiss?Any advice/tips on kissing/necking? What do guys like?

So, i'm 21 & he's 24. He's a little reserved & i'm shy. He's not a player, but he is pretty experienced. I have never even kissed a guy & he knows this. He's completely fine with the fact that i have no experience.

I met him at a friends party. We hardly spoke to each other, but there was definitely a connection.

The next day, he added me on Facebook & messaged me. Shortly into the conversation, he suggested that we should hang out sometime. I was hesitant because i didn't really know him.

So we talked for about a month before we actually hung out. Now we've been hanging out for about 2 months. We're not an official couple or anything, but nether of us are interested in anyone else. We've told each other that we like each other, so there's no confusion there. He actually told me that he likes me 'a lot more than he probably should' whatever that means?

So, we've really only hugged & cuddled. We fell asleep together a few times & he has kissed me on the forehead twice. He's always respectful of me. He has said that he's fine with what we have & really stresses the fact that he doesn't want to make me uncomfortable.

When he drove me home the other night, we hugged in the car, which is what we always do. But, it turned into a very prolonged hug & he started kissing my neck and moved to my face/cheeks. When we pulled apart i smiled at him; we were within kissing distance still. A few moments passed and i looked away... it just feels kind of awkward to be so close to his face just staring at him. It also makes me really nervous. The same thing happened last night.

I'm relieved & disappointed at the same time when he doesn't kiss me. Relieved because i'm kind of scared to kiss him... i mean, i don't know what i'm doing.. i'm just unsure of myself. At the same time it's like 'omg just do it already'.

Is my nervousness the reason he doesn't go for it? Am i just pathetic? lol