How are online relationships suppose to work?

So.. I've been talking to this guy for 4 months (ironically today!), dating him for about 3, and I feel like I'm actually in love. But, I don't know if I'm just a cheater, or I just don't feel like the relationship is real because we haven't met in person. Due to the fact that I talk to other guys still. I even have a special "friend" I still enjoy being around, even though I'm suppose to be in this relationship. I really do love my boyfriend, but I just don't think that our relationship is solid yet. So, how are online relationships actually suppose to work, when it comes to commitment and everything, is it really the same rules as a normal relationship?
P. S. My boyfriend and I actually live in the same city, but because neither one of us have cars or time is the reason we haven't met.

0|1
1|4

Most Helpful Guy

• To be honest --and maybe I'm just an old dinosaur-- but the whole "online relationship" concept blows my mind. I just can't understand how people can develop any sort of romantic attachment to, not only someone they don't see often, but someone they've never even met in person. Also, I don't have an adequate level of confidence that people are who they say they are. There are a number of users on here that I don't believe they are who they present themselves to be, whether its using fake pictures or just plain old pretending to be someone they aren't altogether. I won't name names of course, and I'm not sure enough to call anyone out anyway, but when I see someone's pic is some hot, barely legal-type and they act very hypersexualized, and play the whole "I'm only 18...*tee-hee*" role, I'm immediately suspicious. Same goes for dudes here. There are a few profiles I've seen with some super-handsome or super-in shape dude, and in some cases, something about it just sets off my BS radar.