My friend is trying to convince me that my online boyfriend of 2 years is a fake

i recently just told my best friend that I have been dating a guy online for the past two years. when I told her that we haven't talked on the phone yet she immediately started to believe that he was a fake and that he was some old guy with a wife and kids and the reason why he doesn't want to talk on the phone is because it will blow is cover. now I don't believe this at all. I've been talking to him everyday for the past two years and I am almost 100 percent positive that he is who he says he is. but the fact that she even brought it up made me think a lot... I mean I think that I know him so well but how do I really know? he could have been lying about everything for the past 2 years. even though I strongly believe that what she's saying isn't true, I can't help but think about it. I really just want to take the next step and talk on the phone or on webcam or something, I mean it has been two years I think its about time, right? I'm just nervous as to what he will say, because I think if he says no I might have to break it off. even if he is who he says he is which I believe he is, I don't want to continue a relationship with someone that isn't going to go anywhere. he says that he doesn't want a girlfriend because of me, and I don't want a boyfriend because of him, but if we're never going to take the next step what's the point of not dating and having actual relationships?

Updates:
okay I shouldn't have said we were in a 'relationship' because its not exactly that. its not like we're with each other and no one else, we still hook up with other people but we're not in relationships because we have feelings for each other.
you probably don't understand.. and I don't expect any of you to. I'm not some loser with no friends who sits at home all day talking to people I don't know on the computer. me and him actually met by accident...