What to say on the first message to a girl on an online dating site?

I am on OKCupid and I constantly hit up all of these girls, because women never message first even if they are interested in you. But what are some tips on what to say on the first message so that the girls will respond more. I am not very good at talking online and so this whole experience is new and frustrating for me because I know I am an interesting guy but I can't prove that to her if she won't even give me a chance. so what are some tips to get her talking? both sexes welcome.

0|0
3|6

Most Helpful Girl

• I actually met my current boyfriend on POF. The online dating thing was rough, but in the end - it worked for me (yes, I was shocked). Like some other have said - DO NOT just type "hi" that's annoying and seems like you are just basically typing "hi" to every single girl you find attractive. Telling her she's hot or that she's got a great ________ (whatever) isn't the best way either. Bring up something in her profile that interests you both, it shows that you didn't just look at her pictures and send her a message but that you actually read through the BS she had to come up with to fill the damn profile out! Lots of girls won't reply - don't worry about it. It happens. Also, if she's instantly talking about hooking up - don't plan on anything coming from that. I mean, besides sex - which is fine if that's what you are looking for. Seems to me like you want something more though. Good luck in your search!

FYI - it did take me about 6-7 months to finally find the guy I'm with now, it's a slow process! I went on a few other dates, none crazy at least, but just didn't hit it off with anyone else.

0|1
    0|0

What Girls Said 2

• READ their profile, comment on something on there and not the first line. Something mentioned in passing and ffs do NOT open with a physical compliment. It's cheap and they get that 500 times a day I guarantee it.

1|2
    0|0