It's my first time dating and I don't know what to expect?

So I met a guy on an online dating site, we live in the same town so he has already asked me to meet up with him - I checked him out on Facebook and I realized he is friends with a group I used to hang out with, so I don't think he is dangerous so I'm not afraid of being hurt by him. What I am afraid of though is that he will want me to sleep with him right away - he's asked me a couple of times to come to his apartment to watch a movie and I have a feeling he expects more than that. Another problem is that he knows my ex - they aren't close friends or anything but I'm afraid it might make things awkward if I went out with him, I know they would figure it out eventually since they have the same friends and they like to long board together sometimes.

So on to my questions - I really want to go out with him, but I don't want to be put into an awkward position where he expects me to sleep with him I've been avoiding his messages for the last couple of days because of it and I made up a stupid excuse to not go to his apartment. What can I do that will let him know this without me making things weird or awkward?

Also what do you think he is expecting? Should I go out with him even if it might cause problems with my ex?

I'm also a little socially awkward, what should I talk about - I don't want to tell him too much about me too fast it would take away the mystery. I honestly don't know what to expect when dating or starting a new relationship because I started dating my ex when I was 14 and only just broke up with him a few months ago. :/

Updates:
I don't want him to think I'm not interested so I was going to message him back tomorrow but I just don't know what to do. There isn't anything else to do where we live so it's not like I can just suggest something else. :/