She liked me, I didn't make a move, then I do then she's blown away but says she's talking to someone?

This girl and I have been talking since March this year, she was always happy to see me in the hallways (I graduated that semester, she has 2 more semesters to go). I could tell she liked me, but her signals were confusing: flirty one day over text then cold the next. I wasn't ready for dating as I just broke up from a 4 year relationship and she knows, but being with her eventually made me give it a go sooner than planned. We have gone out to a few places about 7 times (best part of FL is that there's always stuff to do), just for fun and always hugged when we left. I told her I went on some day-dates with my brothers friends, those seemed to make her a little jealous so I knew she had some feelings for me.

Well, she was working in the office when I came by to take care of graduation matters and it wasn't busy, so I flat out asked why we weren't dating. It blew her away instantly and she stopped what she was doing, we had a good 15 second solid eye stare and my stomach hit the floor. She said she didn't know why with the facial expression as if she was wanting me to say we needed to date, but then she eventually said she just started talked to a different dude at school and that she was sorry. After that she and I talked normally and she acted like everything was OK. Now she won't respond to my texts or FB chats (she uses it about once a week, though). I'm afraid I may have messed up what we had but my friends say she should have seen it coming the way she acted with me.