Is this normal for a shy girl?

I've been crushing on a shy girl for a few months, and I have not been getting clear negative or clear positive signs. I'm very new to dating (I'm a little late in the game, I'm 18), and I don't want to overthink or push too far.

I got her number right before the school year ended. Every time I talked to her in person, she seemed very interested in talking - SOLID eye contact, laughing at my jokes, etc. Whenever I text her, I ALWAYS initiate, but when she replies, we always text back and forth for at least 2-3 hours. The problem is, she does not always reply. I tried asking her to hang out 3 times - the first time was a yes (and I really bombed out on showing interest, which was my bad). The next two times she said no, but gave me specific, detailed, and admittedly good reasons why she was not available (vacation, work trip).

Based on her Facebook profile and our conversations, I have noticed she does not reply to me only when she is already busy (work, at a concert, etc.) I had a class with her in the past, and she didn't say a word, so I really don't think she likes initiating. To the best of my knowledge, she never had a BF before. She seems to have a small group of 2-3 girls she always hangs out with. She is also close to her family.

Whenever we do talk (in person or text) we laugh a lot. She carries on the conversation by asking me tons of questions about myself, and she freely answers questions I ask her.

What can I do next? First of all, do I still have a chance with her? School starts again on Friday, and I have a class with her, so I'll see her in person again. What can I do to progress this a little further?

0|0
4|0

Most Helpful Girl