Should I tell about my insecurity to my boyfriend or would it make things worse?

I really love my boyfriend and I know he loves me. We're really different, though. He's always been the popular kid, star of sports, good-looking and fit, funny, smart - leading to a really good self esteem even a bit too cocky occasionally.

My background is completely different. I was bullied at school because I used to be overweight as a kid. I lack self esteem, not that much anymore but in some occasions it's quite obvious. I'm really worried how others see me and if they like me. I know I'm kind, nice, relatively pretty and have lots of good qualities. Still, I feel really low every now and then.

Especially I don't like my body. I have fighted with my weight all the years, sometimes I've been even obese sometimes underweight... Now I'm on the thick side, not technically fat but definitely could lose some pounds (which I'm trying to do).

My boyfriend says I'm beautiful and hot and it's silly to think something else. He knows I want to lose some weight but he always says I don't need to, I'm fine as I am. And that if I was too fat he'd say it... I don't know. I try not to talk about my insecurities with him because I'm worried he'd not like me if he sees how unconfident I am.

Basically, I've found myself wondering all days why he is with me, when he could get some slim super gorgeous popular girl? I'm afraid I'm not good enough for him. I've been so sad and started to vomit after eating, because I'd like to be skinny for him. And I feel like I'd like to talk about all this with him, but I'm worried he'd see me differently? Or would he even be able to understand where I'm coming from?

0|0
2|2

Most Helpful Guy