Would Girls Reconsider Dating a Guy Who's Lost Weight?

I'm a college student at a small college, and when I started school I was about 80 pounds overweight. I didn't have much self-confidence at the time, and needless to say, girls weren't into me. There were two girls in particular who I've always had a crush on, but neither has shown any interest in me. I actually mustered the balls to ask one of them out when I was still fat, but she turned me down. What's worse, she told a few other girls in our dorm that I had asked her out and they kinda gave me funny looks for several weeks after that.

I got tired of being "the fat guy" who never had a girlfriend and I decided to get in shape. I've lost a bunch of weight over the past year to the point that I'm at my goal weight. I notice now that girls are checking me out, but I still can't tell if they're into me or just surprised at my new appearance.

I'm still crushing on the same girl, and my question is this: is it likely that she would reconsider going out with me now that I'm in much better shape? I've had several friends tell me to ask out other girls on campus, but I'm afraid that most of the girls at my school will still see me as the fat guy I used to be. Do girls change their opinions of guys who lose weight, or do they always sort of categorize us as losers?

0|0
5|2

Most Helpful Girl

• 1. A guy who's lost weight or overcame something else is a cool thing.
    2. You should be more confident now.
    3. Aske the girl out but keep in mind that it is likely she's not the best one because a normal girl will never make fun of a guy who asked her out, no matter what number his scales are showing. Never. Trust me.

1|2
    0|0
    • It seems like most girls kinda get mad when they get asked out by a guy they think isn't good enough for them. It's almost like it offends them that the guy even thought he could get her. I think that's what this girl did, but I'm not sure.