How do you make it clear to guy that you are not interested?

I'm a college student and I don't have time for a relationship. Yet I'm getting these guys who will always sit with me (repeatedly) in the cafeteria or will always be texting me. They haven't actually come out and said "I like you, and I want to go out," but they have clearly hinted at it. Usually I'll do my best to create a little distance between the two of us. Usually they get the hint but half of the time they will give me the guilt trip and start but then they start to guilt trip me by saying things along the lines of "What ever I did to make you hate me I'm sorry!" I know how it feels to get turn down and it stings, and I HATE hurting people! What is the best way to gentle make it clear from the get go that I'm not looking for a relationship, only friendship?

0|0
2|7

Most Helpful Guy

• easy. lie and say you have a boyfriend, that you're in love, engaged, whatever.

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 6

• well if they don't come out and say they want a relationship how are you sure they want that? how do you know they don't just want to be friends? or maybe just want to hookup?

but nonetheless I think you should just say...
    "I just want to say up front that I don't really have time for relationships right now. So if that is what you are looking for I want you to know ahead of time so that things don't get weird. however if you are just looking for a friend then I am game"

0|0
    0|0
  • What do you mean that you are too busy? When will you ever stop being busy?

Anyway the best way is to call the "buddy" or "friend" or "dude" from the get go. Buddy works too well tbh. Don't hold eye contact for too long. Cross your arms and legs if they get too close. Talk about other guys in their presence. Casually tell them that you have no time for anything other than schoo

0|0
    0|0
  • "I'm flattered but I'm just not interested in a relationship right now, with anyone."

1|0
    0|0