How do you feel about dating a young woman working night shift temporarily?

I'm a young woman (24) that just recently graduated nursing school. Yay! I landed my first job at the top hospital in the city, very difficult to do. It also happens to be my dream facility, and state hospital of the school I graduated from. However, in order to do so, I had to turn down my day shift offers at other hospitals, and except a night shift position.

Basically, I work 3 12-hr shifts a week. So I'd work 7p-7a three nights in a row, then be off work altogether for 4 days. I also work every 3rd weekend.

This is a temporary situation for me. Obviously I had the option of day shift somewhere else, but in order to get into the biggest hospital (with the best salary, benefits, and resume booster) as a new graduate, you have to pay your dues on night shift.

I will be switching as soon as a position comes up. It could be as soon as a couple months if I'm very lucky, or up to a year if I'm not. If it gets close to a year, I'll have enough experience to grab a day shift position somewhere else in the hospital if my floor is unable to offer it to me.

I also will do a night/day switch during the week. So on my 4 days off, I'll be a "day walker" as they call it. I'll still need some understanding over my sleeping needs though, as this will likely take a bit out of me.

So my question is, would you be willing to put up with this situation for 8 months to a year if you met a woman you really liked? I ask because I was talking to a new guy recently, and he pressured me into taking the day shift at different hospital. When I chose the night shift because it was my dream location and I knew it wouldn't be forever, he pulled back a lot and is barely talking to me now :/

0|0
1|7

Most Helpful Guy