I think I'm finally ready to date again. Where do I start? Are my fears unusual?

I'm divorced and married my high school sweetheart. I'm ready to date but NOT for anything serious. Just meeting guys and seeing who is out there and making connections.

I'm worried about falling for someone too easily though. Like settling out of fear of being alone. I keep away from relationships because of this. I think I'll just force myself into being alone forever if I keep going.

I don't know how to talk to guys, either. A guy I become familiar with holds the door for me and I can't even say thank you. I feel like a jerk. I'm just shy, I'm just afraid to. I stumble so easily.

Any advice?

Updates:
Also, I totally went past my first sentence. I have zero dating experience because of this, and also, been divorced a couple years now.

0|0
0|5

Most Helpful Guy

• Instead of forcing yourself to date again, why don't you just become friends with guys instead. before getting into relationships. I think friendship is the best of getting to know someone, before dating them. I think its unwise to go straight dating someone you hardly know, the history, if they not they are players etc,

Stop worrying about be alone, in the future. There is plenty of people out there that live alone, and are actually very happy people. Stop worrying about the silly things like being alone, and finding partners. Instead why don't you focus on more important things, like developing a career, that you really joy. Get out and do some hobbies, save up go travelling.

At the end of the day, happiness comes from within, not from the outside, or people. If your not happy single, you won't be happy in a relationship. why don't you just focus on enjoying being single, and see whats out there for you, there are some opportunties out there. I really do think you are missing the bigger picture, when it comes to living your life