How do I lower my standards in dating?

I like good looking guys, I have always liked attractive men. Of course my attraction varies depending on their personality but in general, I always like good looking men and I have a type. However, since I have a PhD in remaining single, I think maybe if I lower my standards and give others a chance... I may actually have a chance at not dying alone.

On a more serious note, how do I lower my standards so that I don't feel like I'm giving someone a chance but genuinly am as excited as I would be with the kind of guys I usually like?

Updates:
P. S I am a beautiful girl and have usually only dated good looking guys but I want to have a lasting relationship and I don't want to fall for the rare good looking, funny etc guy who perhaps knows he can get any girl. I want a simple guy who looks nice but he doesn't have to be wow. I would to increase my pool of men. Can you build attraction with a person?
P. S I'm not too picky, but I tend to be with guys who are wanted by half the world. It gets boring

0|0
3|18

Most Helpful Guy

• From the little you have told us about yourself it is hard to give sound advice. However I will try to help based on what you've told us and estimate the rest.

I don't think you should 'lower' your standards as such, but 'change' them. You seem to limit your choices of men to ones who are physically attractive to you while excluding men who are more debonair. Be aware; looks are fleeting. As we men get older the looks of our youth will fade - if we don't strive to remain fit.

Good health Is a quality you might want to include in your SO's profile. If his genetic makeup suggests he will live to a ripe old age you can expect him to be with you most of your life. (Most women outlive their spouses, and it gets lonely in your autumn years.)