Why is it that if a guy has money a girl only likes him for that reason?

I am in a very serious relationship with a man. He is currently unemployed as he is finishing his law degree. I have my degree and have been working at an entry position in a career in my field. My chosen career is very enjoyable and challenging but it does not pay very well. $30,000/year.

He and I are engaged and are planning a 2017 wedding after he graduates and we're able to put a little bit of a nest egg away.

As it stands, we live together and I am providing for us. It's not a glamorous life, but we make it work in our 1 bedroom apartment. There's not much left at the end of the month but I'm putting what's left away for retirement/a rainy day fund.

He and I have known each other since we were 8 and have been together since we were 16. LONG before we knew what the other was going to do for a living.

When people find out about our relationship and our career choices they automatically assume I'm a gold digger even though we've been living together for over a year and I've been providing for us, putting food on the table, and paying all our bills. They don't consider how long we've been together either.

Yeah, he's going to supposedly make more money than me one day (assuming he's successful) but as for right now it's all on me.

Why do people assume a girl is automatically a gold digger when her guy happens, or has potential to, make a good living?

Do you guys think I'm a gold digger? :(

0|0
0|4

Most Helpful Guy

• Well you are not. This sounds like a very healthy relationship! you are supporting your man so one day he will reciprocate. Thats a beautiful thing. Don't listen to anyone else, their opinions are unjustified. Best of luck with your marriage you sound like an amazing woman and he is lucky to have you.

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 3