My sister lying about having a boyfriend?

She's hardworking, smart, and good looking but this year she was put into a class with only guys.
They make fun of her and annoy her and she happened to be so annoyed with them that she lied about having a boyfriend. Apparently she said she had a French boyfriend. The reason was because she thought it would maybe work because my cousin is French and pretty good-looking.

Yeah it might be a joke but they took it really seriously.

The question is, what should I do? How can I tell her to defend herself in another way and how?
Also have you ever been in a situation like this?
She's also a senior and I'm only a freshman in high school! Do you think that this is joke to her? I mean she could get a boyfriend if she wanted one trust me but why would she lie?

Poll!
Do you think this is okay if it didn't get out of hand?

0|0
3|3

Most Helpful Guy

• If she's in a class full of boys who constantly hound her, I can imagine one reason she'd lie about having a boyfriend. Not for pride reasons, but to get them to stop hounding her. Guys can be really really really persistent if they think a girl is attractive but if they think she has a boyfriend they'll (usually) back off.

Unless they were just being normal bullies and not harassing her sexually. In that case, yeah, it was probably just to look cool. Either way I wouldn't get involved if I were you, lying was a bad choice and she's digging her own social grave.

2|1
    0|0
    • Okay thanks I was not planning on getting involved I just wanted to know what the situation looked like and what she was in for.

I think it is because she wanted them to stop hounding her

What Guys Said 2

• WTF? "What should I do?"

Not a damned thing, it's none of your business what she tells people.

0|0
    0|0
    • The question was slightly misleading, I was more wondering how much harm it would to do we social life if they found out.