I'm paying for this relationship financially, is it fair?

I've been dating my boyfriend for a month now. We were really good friends for 3 months before that. He told me that he works for his dad's construction company and that he gets called in when they need help. He used to work about 4 days a week and talk about how he always treats and pays for his friends when they go out. However, after we started dating, he has been working less and less and now he's flat out broke and doesn't work at all. Apparently his dad hasn't been calling him in to work, so now he doesn't do anything but eat a lot and play games and sleep all day. The first date we went on (he was still working) I paid everything except the movie tickets. From then on, it's been only me paying for stuff. We decided to get a hotel for our first time and I paid for that too. This is getting really expensive for me, but he knows that I make good money at work because I'm an engineer. The thing is, if I'm not paying, we don't go out at all because he's broke. He's not the romantic kind that can think of things to do that doesn't involve money, so he doesn't do anything at all. He's going back to school next year, so he'll be getting financial aid, but I don't expect him to be using that on a date with me. Of course he wants to hang out.. And go back to the hotel again and stuff.. But the only way we can do that is if I pay. I asked him what we're going to do to hang out if we can't do the hotel thing.. Or go out on a date.. And he said he didn't know. What am I supposed to do? I like this guy, but I like to be taken care of once in a while too. Money isn't everything and I don't wanna feel shallow, but I feel like he isn't putting in any effort just because he's broke and I don't think that's fair. What do I do? Please help. By the way, I'm 25 and graduated from college with a job. He's 22, was in the military, trying to go to college soon.

0|0
5|10

Most Helpful Guy