GUYS! How to handle boyfriend! How does he feel?

so my boyfriend and I are in high school and we've been going out for a little over two months now. he is a junior and I'm a sophomore. when we first started going out he was THE sweetest guy ever. he treated me with respect and loved to talk to me and always looked forward to coming over and hanging out and he always wanted me to go watch him at his football games too. okay, well I've noticed in the past three or four weeks or so he has been different. he's gotten more dull and can be quiet at times and when I ask what's wrong he says nothing. it got to the point where I thought we needed a break. after I told him that he cried asking why I felt that way and he was so sorry blah blah blah. I gave him another chance. now just a few days ago, we had plans to hang out and right before we were gonna hang out he ditched me to hang with his friends instead. I was hurt and called him and called it off. he cried. blew up my phone with messages that night, and called me the next morning. he apologized but we talked and he said we needed a break. okay. so the NEXT day he called and was crying really hard saying "I need you" and he said "I love you" and I gave us another chance. now we just had a fight at school today because he was quiet again and said "idk what I want" so I got sad but told him that he needs to tell me what he wants cause I'm tired of the dramas. and games tbh, but he apologized and at the end of the school day the first thing he did was hug me.. he always says "I want you to be happy" and "I care for you" but why isn't he showing it? I don't get it. I tried talking about it with him too & he always says he is sorry and he loves me and wants me to be happy. I can't even tell you all how many times he said that.
"I want you to be happy."