Choosing gfs grad over mine (his sister)?

I graduated college today and my 26 year old brother didn't go because his gf of 4 years also graduated today. I was really hurt that he chose his gfs grad over his own sister that he has known his whole life. I talked to him about it and he was like well I have with Katie for 4 years and she is very important to me and she is family to me after this amount of time I am going to marry her. He said he didn't get the big deal since they been together so long. He said he could understand if we only been together like a year but they been together so long he didn't see why I would be hurt. I don't know I was just raised that when you ate stuck between two obligations family comes first since you known them your whole life. He also said well I spend most of my time with her and I'm closer with her (which to be fair is true) but still I'm his sister his blood I will always be there they can break up. Am I overreacting or would you guys be hurt by that?

0|0
2|1

Most Helpful Girl

• I know what you're saying, but at the end of the day, this must have been a very difficult decision to come to for him. In a way, it's easier to miss the family things, because family will forgive more and family will be there forever regardless of if you miss their big days.
    If you'd been with a guy 4 years, imagine how you'd feel if he missed your graduation.. It would hurt just as much.
    I was raised like you- family comes first, but at the same time, I realized, as we all grow up family need each other less.
    When I was 10 I needed my siblings, as an adult I'm self reliant and we all have our own lives which means we can't all be there for every single event. Sucks, but it happens. I see most old siblings doing like that to, most over say 24/25 are like that because they all have their own shit going on or whatever.

0|0
    0|0