Would you (guys) ever date a girl who.. is the following?

Would you date a girl who is depressed and has an eating disorder? Would it be annoying to see her upset and not eat and refuse treatment? anything like this? (this is a very weird question but it is for my psychiatric teacher and I'm studying the treatment for eating disorders.)

0|0
1|8

Most Helpful Guy

What Guys Said 7

• Yeah, that'd be frustrating because I'd want her to be healthy (mentally and physically) so she can start feeling good again. I would always want to make her happy but I wouldn't be able to handle being the sole thing that's keeping her happy.

1|0
    0|0
  • Honestly, no I probably wouldn't. If she has an eating disorder, and refuses to get treatment, that means she's not even wanting to change. And since it's clear she has a problem, I would think she'd want to change.

I cannot care for someone who doesn't care enough to care for themselves.

0|0
    0|0
    • I totally understand and what I'm about to say, please don't take personal. What you said is understanding, but for someone who has experience two years (so far) with an eating disorder, I can't just "eat" or "care for myself". An eating disorder is a mental illness that isn't a choice. Sorry if this is personal or anything :)

• Show All
    • I guess we're just different types of individuals. More people are probably more like you, but I am who I am. I just cannot be with someone who doesn't love themselves enough to work at fixing what I consider a serious problem.

I'm just more of a hard-ass.

• i understand and yes, maybe we are.

• It would be hard. I would hope that by accepting her should would learn to accept herself.

2|0
    0|0
  • No, I wouldn't. I don't need that sort of complication in my life.

0|0
    0|0
    • Complication?

• Yes, depression and eating disorders are complications, and I'd rather not have to deal with that. Hope you get better

• Thank you :) I was a little confused haha