Why did he say we were friends after 2 months of having a "thing"?

I have been speaking to this boy for around 10 months. We spoke as friends but only started talking as more after we made out around 2 months ago. He got angry over two occasions, one: where i joked around and said i hooked up with a guy, and when he heard, he bruised his knuckle over it, and two: when i actually hooked up with somebody as a result of him saying he didn't want anything serious and making me think he lead me on. The second occasion brought us closer and he said he wanted to get to know me more and loves talking to me as well as him being in it for the long run and not caring whether we did anything sexual or not (we a both virgins and 17 years of age). For two weeks he has been short talking me but still starts conversations and flirts occasionally, this happened after he went to a party and im worried he did something with somebody else because we made a promise we wouldn't do anything with anybody else as we were committed to eachother and trying to build a stronger relationship. A music festival came up and he didn't message me or say hello at all, regardless of the fact that he was sitting across from me with his group of friends numerous times and saw me. I asked him where we stand as I was confused not seeing him at all at the festival and he asked me what i meant by where we stand, were friends. I just said okay and then the next day he messaged me and asked what was up like nothing even happened. I'm not sure how to react and im going to his school ball tomorrow night where he will be taking another girl (whom he asked before meeting me) and im going with another guy. It's going to be awkward and I dont know what to do. please help.

Updates: