Has interracial dating attempts ever failed for you because of cultural incompatibility?

ex. has a relationship failed, because you dont see eye to eye culturally, when you are stereo typically representative of your own race?
one example of this would be, are you a black women, considered to be very "black" in upbringing, who has dated someone who is white, who is also very stereo-typically white? and how did that work out for you?
ever dated a metal head? did he only listen to rock and not cared much for anything else?
and to the opposite, any white men date what would be considered somewhat stereotypical black women? and how did that turn out for you as someone not into or interested in black culture? ex. rap/r&b/church etc...

Updates:
im new to this so forgive me if i am not aware of how things operate here.
also not just white male to black female obviously, i should have been more inclusive in my language, any cultural/subcultural racial crossover situation welcome.

0|0
6|6

Most Helpful Guy

• Not exactly what you're talking about I think, but I ran into a problem where an Indian-American girl I was dating felt a lot of pressure to live up to the expectations of her family and community and dumped me to marry the family friend they all wanted her to. She was an amazing young woman who for almost three years made me feel more loved than I think anyone can imagine. I "understand" why she felt she had to do as she did, but it was intensely heartbreaking.

It gave me a bit of a different perspective on interracial dating; people really do feel pressured by their family, friends, and community, and it does affect their happiness. Color is only skin deep, but our culture is part of who we are.

2|2
    0|0

What Girls Said 6