My friends and family made comments he isn't good enough for me, but I like him. Does it really matter?

I met this guy who I like but our lives are quite different. I studied science in university and I have a pretty good career that I worked hard for. I live in the city and I'll admit I'm a bit high maintenance. I am also fairly attractive I'm very active at the gym and sports - everyone always called me pretty growing up and I get hit on a lot by men and women but I tried to never let it get to me.
A month ago I met this guy and I really really like him. He's from a small town and only has a high school degree and he works in construction. (to be fair at least he has a job, the last few guys I've met don't even work). He isn't the cutest, and he doesn't work out or anything but I dont care for some reason Im really attracted to him. His lifestyle is so different than mine he sometimes dresses a bit nerdy lol but i find it endearing and i dont think these things matter
I didn't think about anything until my friends pointed all this out and told me I could do so much better. But honestly I've dated the hot guys and those relationships did nothing for me. they saw photos i posted of him and i on facebook and they started texting me really rude comments... one of my girlfriends even called him "ugly". I'm really hurt by what they say.. but then one of my girlfriends made a comment that got me thinking. she said I might be happy with him now but in the long run i won't be happy and that i'll start looking at other guys. especially because of his career.
what do you all think about this and has anyone else been in this situation?

1|0
4|8

Most Helpful Guy

• man.. I don't read descriptions like that very often. You sound like a fuckin awesome woman. Good looking, smart, yet still humble and capable of loving a man regardless of bullshit materialistic elements or societal norms and pressure... That calls for respect.