Would an 18 year-old girl date a 24 year-old guy, or is the age gap too big?

I'm a grad student, and recently I met this amazingly fine girl who works in our campus tour program. I started talking to her and found out her name, and it turns out that she's an 18 yo freshman. I was kind of bummed by this, because I'm not sure about that age gap. I'm 24, so that's a pretty big stretch, especially since this is her first year at college. She seems really mature, though, like I would have never guessed she was in her teens. I'm so attracted to her, so I'm really tempted to take a chance and see what happens. Can this work out?

0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• When I was 16 my first real relationship was with a 23 year old who was turning 24 soon after we met. I can never understand the fuss of the age gaps because I knew who I was and what I wanted from 16 onward, and continued to date men who were older. I didn't even keep it a secret from my parents. I was always honest about where I was and who the guys were I dated. No point in worrying about how things seemed. I found that if *I* made a big deal of it, so did others.

If you met a great girl who is 18 then date her if you want to! :) She's already two years within the gap I had when I dated a 24 year old, and we were together for a long time, he and I. (I actually did want to marry him after a couple of years, but he ended up being a cheater, so that's the only reason why we split up. Had he not, I would have easily been with him for the long haul.)

1|1
    0|0
    • My main worry right now is the "creep" factor. She doesn't know my age yet, and I'm worried that she'll be put off when I tell her.

• Show All
    • HA! Yeah, you might be right. I think I'll just go for it with her and act like everything is as it should be. She's a love-at-first-sight kind of girl, so it's worth the potential heartache. Thanks so much for your help :-)