Some ideas will be appreciated?

Im new to all this liking a guy and I want to tell a guy I feel attracted to him or like him but I dont know how to do it and when will be the best and appropriate time to do it or say it. It is a guy I met 4 mos ago and even though we haven't gone out together very often in fact just once and that was almost 2 mos ago but we talked about going out again but never schedule when just we mention about it. I dont know how to tell him that. Currently he is out of the country and he returns around mid August or the end of August he is with some male friends in Europe backpacking.

He had given me signs he likes me over text and during our first date, but he never had said directly to me he likes me or feel attracted, but I dont know if it is he is just being that flirtious with all women he met or he really likes me. So that is the confusing part whether I better wait for him to make a move or not. His personality is a bit odd let me tell you that is another reason I dont know how to tell a guy I like him when his personality is a bit ambigous and strange like for there ar times he tells and share things with me and other times he does not say a word and does not share things or do not answer when I ask him about things. For example I remember on our first date he asked me what did I think of him when I first met him 4 mos ago but then when I asked him the same question the next day over the phone text, he did not answer me. I think it was more important for him to know what I think of him than what he think of me. Maybe he was strange that someone like me would care about him? I dont know.