How Important is a Man's Status/Lifestyle in Dating?

I was talking to a younger girl the other day, and she was raving about going out with a guy since he was so popular. I remember how women used to headhunt the football players in college. And today, I've seen celebrities take another man's girl from right in front of him. I've even known women who live with their mom to reject men because those guys don't have a car (even though he may have his own place). So how important is a man's status/lifestyle when he is being considered as a partner?

• Very Important
    9% (3)45% (14)27% (17)Vote
  • Important
    34% (11)29% (9)32% (20)Vote
  • Of Minimal Concern
    41% (13)23% (7)32% (20)Vote
  • Not Important at All
    16% (5)3% (1)9% (6)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
18|9

Most Helpful Girl

• It is really important to a lot of girls, but not most, not as far as I know.

I'm 19, I'm a college student, I'm in between jobs, I currently live at home. I'm in no position to require that a guy I date be financially stable when I'm not bringing that to the table myself.
    But I would highly prefer that he has a car. I don't want to drive all the time. I'm a bad driver with a shitty car that is falling apart. So, I'd prefer he has a car, but him not having one isn't a deal breaker.

I also most likely wouldn't date a guy who doesn't have ambition. I'm in college and plan to get a pHD, and if I end up in the career field I want I will be making decent money for sure. I have goals for the future and a general idea of what kind of life I'm after. I don't see myself with a guy who has no goals, and is content just working an entry level job for years.

I also couldn't give less of a fuck about his "popularity. " if I like him, that's all that matters. Actually I would be insecure to date a super popular person. I'm not comfortable in the spotlight and he'd probably drag me to hang out with a crowd and that's not my thing.