(Long story below) Have you ever connected with someone but that person never conneceted with you?

So I met this guy during gym class. Attractive and had this mysterious vibe to him. He usually keeps to himslef and I would try to get him to talk.. All I got were mumbles, "eh", nods, or a little smile lol. I would try to partner up with him too but sometimes others beat me to it. So I developed feelings to him but I just brushed it off as a small crush.
I graduated and he became a junior (in my defense, he looked older than what he was and I thought he was a junior going on senior year) and a week later he texts me. We went on texting and My feelings went deeper. I connected with him during gym class. I just felt like I was at home and secured when I was with him. I never felt like that with anyone. So I finally met with him and it was our "first date" (its in quotation bc I saw it more as an hangout but he wanted it to be a date).
The original plan was going hiking but my parent insisted on the mall bc it is safer. My guy and i wanted to go hiking bc it was more intimate while the mall you couldn't get any "us time".. No privacy. Plus he hates the mall.
The date was very awkward and uncomfortable. All I did was stare at him with admiration. I had so many things I wanted to say but all I got out were mumbles and small talk. He did the same thing. When it was time to go, I asked for a hug and he said, "i'll give you a hug if you want one" and we did the side way hug. And that was the night. He left his short and I texted him and he said he'll get it next time. Thats when I knew he didn't like me anymore.