Would you date a psychologist?

I would think that dating one would get annoying. I am a psychologist and I have always thought that it made my relationships better but women just end up getting annoyed.

• Yes
    77% (67)64% (36)72% (103)Vote
  • No
    23% (20)36% (20)28% (40)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

1|0
36|25

Most Helpful Girl

• I dated a psychologist for 2 years. He hadn't practised in a councilling clinic but he had studied all the theories. He told me I was a personality type I wasn't and base his assumptions of my behavior on those and instead of listening to my view point he would tell me I was just mad for some other reason. He played a lot of mental games with family and friends and a lot of them stopped talking to me so he effectively isolated me. I think he did psychology because he had his own problems to sort out.
    But a psychologist who didn't do all those things would probably be great to go out with.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy

• I am about to study psychology...

There is one thing called ethics for psychologists :

With knowledge of the deepest corners of the human psyche, you can invade anyone's mind and destroy them if you wanted to - If I were a bad person, I'd end up working for some secret service torturing inmates or stuff.

And don't breach anyone's boundaries in case they see no purpose for them in your advice.

Of course it may be helpful to have good knowledge of communication - because communication is extremely important in a relationship. If you are unable to openly communicate your needs or boundaries, you will not be happy...

0|0
    0|0
    • Oh, and you could also use your knowledge to make your SO feel really great, but despite having all this knowledge, don't become a fake... I can't stand fake people... Don't become a sociopath...