I can't tell what's going on?

I've been talking to a guy for 5 months.
We went to college together, semi friends. I always felt like he had a crush on me. He left the school and we kept in contact for 2 years after until I finished. He ended up pursuing me so we started talking. He's always tried his best.
I've seen him twice, things were smooth until recently.
His job sucks. He works in a factory, 12 hour shifts. He had to take the 6pm-6am shift and adjust his sleeping schedule. He says it's horrible and he job is making him miserable, told me he's starting to feel dead inside.
He's been horrible at communication.
Recently I went to his house. [1 hr distance.] He's always so tired that we just sat. He introduced me to his parents and made future plans so I felt better. We texted and then he just quit talking for 3 days.
On Christmas I sent a message. He replied and had to work that night so he was bummed.
I was upset that I hadn't heard from him.
I said I was bothering him and stuff that was not me. Next day he messaged, it was weird. He said 'i feel like we're drifting apart.' I asked what he meant he said 'i felt like you thought we were drifting apart because of the stuff you've been saying.' Also, 'We've been talking for 5 months and we've hung out twice.' 'When I can hang out I never want to do anything because I'm so worn out.' 'You talk like I don't care about you anymore.' 'I just don't want you to be with someone who's gonna be in the worst mood all the time cause I know you are always in a good mood.' 'That's not good for a healthy relationship [my nickname] I need some depression pills or a new job.'
He can't quit, the company is rooted in his family. I said any place would love to have him and he replied asking how much I truly know about him. Abnormal.