Do you have any advice for trying to start a long distance relationship?

I returned to my college town for New Years and met a girl. I spent nearly the entire next day hanging out with her and our mutual friends. Things went really well and I want to try and see if things might go somewhere which is pretty rare for me. I live about an hour and a half away so driving there isn't too hard but I've never done a long distance relationship before. And I've definetly never tried to start a relationship from this far away. So if anyone had any advice that would be awesome.

0|0
4|3

Most Helpful Girl

• Seeing as how you are still pretty darn close to each other, I don't agree with the people saying it's "too hard". Yeah, it won't be easy, but it's not too hard unless you make it too hard.

The guy I've been with for almost 3 years started off as a long distance relationship. Now we are getting married and have lived together for a long time. It was really hard for us and we gave up after 2 months and I uprooted my life and moved in with him. We had an instant connection and it killed us to be apart. I still remember us both crying when I left his house for the first time after meeting (after staying there the weekend) and it felt like we were never going to see each other again :P

We lived 3 hours away from each other, which is long enough to where you can't make that trip all the time... especially as people that are broke with little money for gas and I was living with my parents and he was a secret so I had to lie to see him, since they didn't know about him. I didn't think my parents would approve of the whole online thing... especially since I found him on a dating site. So I told them when I was moving that I met him on facebook instead lol. They still found it weird but I can't imagine their faces if they knew I was on a dating website... they are so old fashioned.