What does it mean when he says he wants to go on a break?

My boyfriend said last night that he wants to go on a break so he can focus on school and that it'll just be until he sure he's gonna pass and that he still loves me. But I don't understand

Updates:
doesn't matter, we're done.

0|0
6|6

Most Helpful Guy

• Well I can relate. I studied hard and found it difficult to be in a relationship and focused on studying at the same time. I had a difficult major and on top of that I squeezed about 8 years of college into 6 years. I can relate to "studying coming first". I couldn't afford to have to repeat a class or to get a bad grade. // Fast forward a couple of decades and I am very successful. // So back to your question. He very well might want to concentrate on school. If he says he still loves you he probably does. Sit back and see how it goes from here. Keep in touch with him but don't stress out over the situation.

0|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• He need space I guess. You really need to talk to him and how u feel.

0|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 5

• I might be misreading this, as some very experienced people are giving very negative answers, but I've done this before to women I really cared about, including my wife.

There were just times when my work became so intense and I felt like I was getting behind on everything in life that I just needed to take a break from her and fix everything.

I got back together after about a month. I wasn't interested in other women, I just needed to do a lot of things I was getting behind on.

0|0
    0|0
    • If it's anything like my case, a sign was that I was dating my now-wife back then and I couldn't even focus on talking to her at dinner. I was distant because my mind was obsessed with some loose ends at work when I left the computer (software developer).

• It probably means that your relationship is over.

0|1
    0|0