What should I do, as a romantic guy who seems to be out of place?

Well, I really need to let this out somewhere in order to come to peace with myself, and I thought that this would be the ideal place due to the userbase's impartial nature.

So, I should probably state that I am a freshman in the university; this means that the vast majority of people enjoy hard partying, hard drinking, and most of all casual, meaningless sex. Due to peer pressure, I've forced myself myself to try to get into this mindset, yet I was unsuccessful. Don't get me wrong, I like drinking and partying, but I just don't feel like it's the right place to meet a girl.

The way I see it, the only real way for me to find a girlfriend would be to first make friends with someone, and then ask them out on a date. I don't lack confidence or social skills, nor do I consider myself bad looking (different opinions welcome aswell :D), so that's a bonus. I just want to meet someone smart, with whom I can have interesting conversations; someone to sit in the car with, in a romantic spot, and listen to dire straits, and romantic music in general. Someone that inspires me to write a musical piece for them (i play the piano-synth). Someone to sit on the beach with, and watch the sun set and rise... You get the stupid romantic idea.

That's not to say that I am oversensitive, or lack masculinity, or anything like that. I just honestly feel good being a gentleman, and can only see myself only commiting to a relationship, despite being "only" 18 years old. That might be because I previously had a relationship that lasted about 2 years, which I really cherish.

So, ladies and gentlemen, what should I do? Should I just wait for the right girl to come? How will I know it's her? Should I just cut the romantic crap and follow what seems to be the trend for people my age? For the time being, I have (probably) accepted my single status, and honestly feel better by myself than with someone that isn't really my match.