This guy I'm talking to might be prejudice?

So I've never dealt with this before. A guy I've been talking to for about two months has been giving me some sort of vibe. I'm a Black woman he is a White man. I've dated plenty of White men and been in relationships with them and have never ever gotten this vibe before, so let me explain. I'll try to make this as short as I can. So basically, If I bring up anything relating to being a Black woman, hair, music I grew up listening to, Soul food etc baiscally anything relating to being Black he becomes very dismissive and acts sort of... Offended I would say, like he doesn't want me to talk about a Black artist or actor. It only happens when it has something to do with a Black person.

If I ask him if he's ever listened to, let's say Al Green He will go off on a rant and say he doesn't care about that type of music and HATES it, he will rant for five minutes not even joking about his strong dislike. At first I thought okay that's just him being him but its only when we are on the topic of race.

I recenlty had an incident where someone did call me a racial slur, just a typical troll of a person and when I talked about how ignorant people are, he tried to turn it around on me and made it seem like the guy who called me the racial slur wasn't in the wrong. I was so put off. I will mention he told me that his ex who was Black was " The whitest Black girl". I think he expected me to be that way but I'm not. I'm just me. So yeah its just weird and I'm not sure what to think about the situation. I've had deep discussions with past boyfriends about race and never once did I feel disrepected or turned off.

0|1
0|2

What Guys Said 2

• It's sad that you even have to consider this. It does sound like he loves black women's beauty and femininity but has inner anguish over race issues.