Uni student -should I charge my boyfriend to stay at my place?

Before people think this sounds harsh... my boyfriend and I have been together for over 2 years. He wants to stay at my uni flat just because he has work experience in the next door city. I'm a student and only get enough money to live off because I have a part time job, can just abut feed myself. He'll be at my place for 2 weeks. Is it wrong to ask for a bit of money from him for his food as I'll be doing all the cooking?

0|0
6|16

Most Helpful Guy

• Well he should be offering something. If he doesn't then I'd say something.

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• No its perfectly fair

1|0
    0|0

What Guys Said 15

• It's only two weeks. I would normally say to just let him volunteer helping with food or whatever. But if you are barely getting by, then I'd say something to him. You don't have to put it in terms of charging him, but just tell him you are hurting and ask if he can help with the food or something. After two years, I'd think he'd know you were not rich. But maybe he doesn't realize that you are barely scraping by.

In a two year relationship, you should be able to talk about this stuff openly. If there is any long term prospects, it's an absolute must to talk about it openly.

0|0
    0|0
  • Well... if you absolutely can't afford him staying over for those 2 weeks, then yeah just be honest with him about your financial situation.

0|1
    0|0
  • I would just be honest about needing a little help with the food costs. He should understand.

0|0
    0|0
  • Its not wrong... Its called standing up for yourself and not being a doormat

0|0
    0|0
  • I wouldn't ask for money. Tell him that you're struggling financially and would love to be able to take care of both of. However, you can't afford to. Since he is only staying for 2 weeks ask him if he's willing to cover groceries for a week.

0|0
    0|0
  • I believe that request to be reasonable.

0|0
    0|0