Do educated guys really care if the girl they marry/seriously date is also as educated as they are?

I used to think they do.

But now I feel they just want a nice girl who would make a good wife and a good mother.

Her education level doesn't matter that much. Like it would be realistic for an engineer to marry a teacher.

It does confuse me though because if one person is working a very demanding/tiring job, (like if one' s a lawyer), and the other is working a very easy-going, but fulfilling job (like a photographer), they could definitely get married but wouldn't there be a lack of connection between the two.

The photographer would always be unhappy that the lawyer is working long hours and it would feel empty to her.

0|0
2|19

Most Helpful Guy

• Everyone is different.

Personally, I'm a lawyer, and my wife is an accountant. Prior to getting married and even meeting my wife, I would date "artists" or "artistic types" - "free spirits" (if you will).

I'm not quite sure if it was some creepy paternalistic impulse inside me to want to be their "daddy" or caretaker and provider, as if that would solidify somehow my identity as a "man." I'm not sure if I enjoyed the feeling of having a "partner," or the feeling I was enjoying was almost being "charitable," "giving," "helping," "superior," "stronger," etc.