Should I tell my boyfriend I cheated when we were in highschool?

I started dating my boyfriend when I was 14, the summer going into my freshman year. Throughout the first year we dated I kissed a couple other guys and gave one a HJ, I on and off flirted with this guy during the first year of my relationship. I know I was young, and stupid and immature. As I grew up I learned to forgive myself because I was so young. Ok well here we are 5 years later, I'm a sophomore in college and have terrible anxiety and depression because my dad has cancer and I just lost my grandfather. Now I feel like a terrible person and I serious hate myself for what I've done. My mom says not to say anything because I was young and had no idea what what a real commitment was. But as our relationship gets stronger and stronger I don't know how to forgive myself again. What if I get married to him but my relationship is just based off of a huge lie? I'm sorry if this sounds crazy but my anxiety is just really bugging me and I can't stop ruminating about this. My therapist says as time goes on I will learn to live with it because right now it's just an obsession related to my anxiety and depression. I just need further opinions, please be nice to me, I don't like myself as much as it is.

0|0
9|14

Most Helpful Guy

• I'm honestly not sure that you should. I think that there's a lot more to be lost here than gained. It's clear that your boyfriend means a lot to you. Maybe I'm just being pessimistic, but I don't see much good coming from this, if any at all.

Has this depression and anxiety been caused by the guilt from what you did? If so, I think what you need is not so much therapy, but FORGIVENESS. I'm not sure what others have told you, but more than "let it go, you were young", I think you need someone to look you in the eye and say "I forgive you."