Do you ever feel like you're settling for less when dating?

I've never dated anyone, I have unreasonably high expectations of the girl I want. At least I feel like I do. So I have no experience regarding dating... at all. Do you ever feel like you're settling for less than what you want?

What I want is the girl that is "perfect" or what I find perfect. Not to come across as "I deserve the best girl in the world." I understand that a relationship takes time to build and nurture till it comes to the beautiful thing we see in romantic movies, not just love at first sight. This is probably a stupid question but I guess I'm going to ask it anyway.

• Yes
    34% (11)58% (15)45% (26)Vote
  • No
    66% (21)42% (11)55% (32)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy
Updates:
I haven't checked this in a while, i'm surprised it's so split. Thanks for the thoughts everyone!

0|0
8|14

Most Helpful Girl

• In a way I guess I feel like I'm having to settle. I don't feel like my expectations are too high though, but I feel like I do have to settle for what I want.

I want a guy who is actually going to love me. Not a guy who is just seeing me as a placeholder until he finds the girlfriend he really wants. Unfortunately guys treat me like a play thing. They get to hang out with me, have sex if we are in a relationship and then leave me for someone 'better'.

I'm sick of being a play thing. I want a real relationship. But that's hard for me to come by. Everyone I know is coupled, and I am just over here wishing I had that too.

I feel like I have to settle for a guy who can't give me what I want, because I'm struggling to find it. I've been single for a while now and it sucks. Every guy I talk to seems interested at first, and then I guess he meets someone new and finds them more exciting. I'm a simple person, and I guess that's a bad thing :(

0|1
    0|0

Most Helpful Guy