Would you date someone who was unemployed?

I'm 23 and I'm thinking of going speed dating.
I know it's something that will count against me. I mean Id date someone in the same situation "graduated from uni and hasn't managed to find permanent work" but maybe that's just because I'm in that position and can relate?
I'm a physics graduate after being lost for a while and taking on 2 unskilled temporary jobs and tutoring a bit I'm now trying to get a job as a data analyst I get interviews for junior positions but there's programing and tools I still have to learn and improve on as well so in the meantime I think I'm likely to be out of work till I learn them well.

• Yes
    62% (38)74% (46)68% (84)Vote
  • No
    38% (23)26% (16)32% (39)Vote
And you are? I'm a GirlI'm a Guy

0|0
11|23

Most Helpful Girl

What Girls Said 10

• I already am dating someone who's unemployed, same as me, though we're both still in uni. I think that I'd want someone to at least be doing something, like if they're not in employment, I'd want them to be in education, not just sitting around doing nothing.

0|1
    0|0
    • Postgraduate study would be expensive you usually can't get a student loan after you finished undergrad. Im working on my portfolio and learning independently I've learnt a lot and networked a bit but I think I'm learning slower out of uni.

• Yes but only if he's actively trying hard to get a job. I don't want to date someone who wants to sit around at home all day playing video games or something.

1|1
    0|0
    • If he's in school and not working because of that, I'm okay with that too. As long as he has some way to support basic living expenses.

• Depends on the situation. I would not date someone who's been unemployed for a long time, who doesn't seem to be looking that hard for work, or who tends to go through cycles with unemployment being a regular occurrence.