Why is it so wrong to be picky about who you date? Does it make you shallow?

I know this is probably going to sound like a rant but I'm really annoyed right now. A guy just called me shallow because I told him (nicely) that I'm not interested in anything other than friendship. It's not the first time this happens but the way he said it really bugged me. Like he was entitled to a chance because he's a nice guy while I'm the shallow one who only goes for looks. The thing is, he's 8 years older than me, overweight and below a 6 in looks. We have absolutely nothing in common even though he's nice to be around. I'm a college student, I like to work out and I care about what I eat while he works in a supermarket, hates working out and loves junk food. I'm not saying there's something wrong with that but is it so wrong of me to want a guy with similar interests? A guy who I actually find attractive? Why do people, especially guys, keep blaming me for being picky and call me shallow? I'm so tired of this double standard...

0|0
11|24

Most Helpful Guy