Did I really ruin his birthday and us in the process?

When I can I pay for movie tickets or pick up things that I know he likes or wouldn't think of. When he travels for work I always talk to him on his long drives so he doesn't feel isolated. In two years we have gotten to know each other really well. We've had only two fights, stopped talking and then picked up where we left off. He had a bday. I took him out and paid for dinner like I said. He paid for parking even though I said I got it and he said it was okay. Before we went to dinner where I made reservations at a four star restaurant. He wanted to stop for drinks. He paid. We went out on his actual bday after I found out we would be able to spend time together. He paid for drinks and dinner. Which as I found out after he stopped talking to me pissed him off. This is my first time planning someone's birthday & I did what I though I did correctly. He said he shouldn't had to have paid for anything & I should know that. He said he told his friends and they opened his eyes that I thought he was a "chump". He told me everyone knows that's not what you do and I should've toasted him on his actual birthday and not on the day I took him to dinner. I did give him a give the day we went to dinner and a gift on his actual birthday. I've never I asked him for anything and when we go out I always make sure we use my car so that I'm at least contributing. Stop talking to me for six days and yesterday told me all of this. I think his ego was hurt but is this something that's recoverable or is this a dealbreaker? When is a fight the end of a relationship?

Updates: