I'm 18, is talking to a 34 year old a bad thing?

I've been talking to this guy for a few months and we've became friends. I'm starting to catch feelings for him because we've hung out a lot and we even cuddle. I don't know if he feels the same way though.

0|1
10|12

Most Helpful Guy

• You are an adult now. You are free to experience life and make mistakes and you are old enough to determine if a mistake will have big or small consequences. Yes, there is a big difference in age between you two. What would be the consequences of going for it. Will it pay more than it will cost? If you are ready for it, go for it. It's your right. If you don't think it's a good idea, don't do it. Again, it's your right. What I know for sure is, don't seek people's opinion to make a decision. People suck...

1|0
    0|0

Most Helpful Girl

• His life is probably at a much different place than yours. Will that work?

He may be divorced and/or have children, debt or other complications that you aren't prepared to handle.

You may not have an education or career path started to build financial security.

He may not want to spend time with your friends and vice versa.

You will undoubtedly have different viewpoints on what makes a relationship serious or not, expectations of a partner and the value of several parts of the relationship. Young people often tend to be more romantic and older people more pragmatic, for instance.

1|1
    0|0
    • 1mo

I like this. At last, a realistic view on things.

• 1mo

He missed out on most of his 20s because he was in the navy. He has no kids or ex wife but he'd like to have a family which in time I want but not yet. I know it is a big age difference but right now he makes me happy and he's told me the same. I'm trying to figure out I'd he's actually interested in having a future with me but I'm not sure how to go about it.

• 1mo