Is it okay to buy things for a guy you're not dating but interested in?

I recently met this guy and we hung out a couple of times, we've been talking for way longer online but I finally had the courage to hang out with him because I'm shy and it takes me a while to build up the courage to talk with someone I really like.

Anyways, I recently got an awesome deal where I bought airplane tickets to NYC for $30 each, and I bought one for him. I asked him if he was okay with going to NYC with me spontaneously for a day and he agreed. My worry is that he will get weirded out that I bought his plane ticket and make it seem like I'm some rich girl, when in reality I'm just a college student who works hard in school and making money with a job.

I don't want him to feel that I'm spending all this money because I want him to like me more, but rather I felt that $30 to NYC round trip was awesome and I wanted to hang out with him. Is this an okay thing to do even if we're not dating yet but interested in each other? I want him to be comfortable with this situation and not worry over money issues or stuff like that.

What would you do if someone did this? Would you be flattered, creeped out, or offended? It's not that I didn't think he could afford it, I just thought it'd be a fun thing to do, plus traveling alone is something I don't like doing either.

0|0
4|1

Most Helpful Guy