Should I bother with a cheater?

Very long story, let's see how short I can make this.

I knew this guy since I was a freshman in high school (I'm now in my third year of college). He went to a different school and he liked me but I turned him down when he asked me to be his girlfriend and we lost touch.

Fast forward to four years later, we recently caught up by email and he has a girlfriend of two years. Upon this discovery we made another discovery, not only do I live on said girlfriend's parent's street but since the lease ended on their appartment they moved in with her parents, making him my neighbor.

We've exchanged numbers and text and chat on the phone, always flirting but he only talks to me when he's at work, which I don't mind so much.

Flirting is as far as it's gone and now I'm madly crushing on him. I've been notorious for having guys fall in love with me, stalking me and generally being creepy but I use them to an extent (bad, yes, I know.). This guy refuses to be anywhere in the same league as them, saying that he's my friend not just another guy that I can use.

With that in mind, he genuinely cares about me, I know this or I hope it to be true. We talk like bestfriends and share secrets.

Last week he told me about an affair he had about six months ago. To say the least I had very mixed feelings, I was jealous, mad and felt bad for his girlfriend and angry that he had sugar coated what he said about this girl earlier that "nothing will ever happen" when something did happen.

Monday we were sharing secrets again and he told me of another affair that happened a few weeks ago. And he went into detail about how he got away with it. I was angry but I knew how to deal with it this time, it wasn't so bad but that still didn't make it right.