Online courses

Has anybody out there taken any online college courses?

What are they like?

How do they work?

Do you like them better than classroom time?

Was there help available when you needed it?

0|0
2|4

Most Helpful Girl

• It actually depends on what type of class you take, the professor teaching it, and how you learn. I do fine with them, and with certain classes preffered them, as going to class for my gen ed's and listening was useless for me. And I have no issues reading the book, doing the homework, and learning it on my own, so it works well for me.

The last one I took was Interpersonal Communications, around May right before I graduated. We had to do discussion topics, usually two a week on whatever chapter we were covering, a paper or two, and then two tests, which if you read were easy, especially since you can have your book right there. I loved it, and it has to be the easiest A I ever earned. Most of the ones I've taken were like that.

But some aren't. My sister is in a statistics class online right now, and the resources on it are incredible, but there is a LOT of homework on it. But it does teach it well, including homework, quizzes, book access online, and example problems you can work through with the computer. It's a much different format, but it's pretty easy to use, and she has an A right now in it.

As for the prof., well that depends. It's just like a regular class, the prof. could be great, answering your e-mails and questions, helping if you need it, or they could just not care. Mine have been pretty good, and usually helped if I had a question or problem.