Nervous of the awkwardness meeting an online date?

I met this guy on an online dating site, he's 25, I'm 19. We added each other on Facebook and we've been chatting and im'ing online for a good long while. He then messaged me his number and asked for mine, he wants to meet up for drinks sometime he said. The thing is I am really nervous about him, so much so that I'm almost thinking of ignoring him!

How will get over my nervousness of meeting him? I mean what do I do when I meet him there, hug him, shake his hand?who pays for the drinks, will I offer to pay when he asks what do I want to drink? I am so scared of the awkwardness on the date, as this is my first time doing this kind of thing - please help!

0|0
2|5

Most Helpful Guy

• If you really feel that something is shady about him, its best to go with your instincts before something bad actually happens. And what do you mean by drinks? In the United States, you have to be 21+ in order to buy an alcoholic drink (legally). When you here someone say "I'll buy you a drink" its more likely they're referring to alcohol since those are more expensive at the bar.

Yes, seeing that the age gap between you two, and the fact that you guys met informally off the Internet, would be something I would be nervous about too. All I can say is take things slow with him. When you see him rush a little speed-dating with you, make sure you let him know that you control his "game" and he's just the "player" trying to beat the "boss".