Can't tell if I'm wasting my time with him or not either way is it worth it?

I'm a freshman in college now and there was this I guy I been liking ever since my 1st semester. He is a freshman also basketball player and I remember dancing with him in our dance appre. class. After that he found me on face book and we started talking, we met up told each other how much we liked each other talked about our life and the fam at home and that since were both not ready for relationships will take it slow see whatever happens happens. and if we get in a relationship later on than OK that's good.

We had sex early to probably in a week with me first actually having a convo with him..I started getting doubts cause I never had sex with someone so quickly but he told me he still likes me and its not a problem if there is anytime I don't want to do it just let him know I started getting input from my friends who told me he just wanted sex and he is just using you and guys saying sometimes a guy doesn't care if you done it to fast

anyways with everyone's input I went crazy I sent him this crazy long like 5 pg text message and realized omg I wouldn't even read this and that was within to weeks we were talking that I sent this to him we stopped talking for about a week and I texted him and he told me it was OK just next time I ever have a problem I should talk to him about it and we met up and spent some time together

anyways after awhile I got more and more into my emotions cause my friends kept telling me a whole lot of stuff, anyways the last time I seen him face to face was the week before Thanksgiving break and we had sex before I left blah blah blah he told me he would miss me cause he wasn't going back to his state when I did come back for the break I would ask him to hang and this he would tell me he was busy and couldn't I knew who had bball practice but he can't play till next year and when I told him to come by sometimes he would leave a blank response