Moral/Emotional Calamity?

I apologize ahead of time for the lengthy-ness of this question.

I'm having a problem figuring out exactly what to do that would be the best for me.

I dated a guy named Ruu for about a month, a month and a half and he was always super emotional and continuously accusing my of flirting with guys I've never spoken to before. My friend, who had dated him before, said that breaking up with him was the best idea she had with him, but I know that may not ring true with me when it comes to him.

I'm not very experienced in the dating world, he's only my third boyfriend. He is the only guy I've gotten physical with and he didn't get really obnoxious about his paranoia and jealousy until afterwards.

He started saying he was falling for me, that he needed me to trust him when I obviously already did. He wanted so much from me that I wasn't sure I should give so early in the relationship. I wasn't emotionally there seeing as I had had my heart broken by another guy only about a few months before getting with Ruu. I feel like he doubted me too much to even give me the chance to start an emotional attachment and by the time I broke up with him, it was too late for one to begin.

Since then, we've been talking, like friends. Then we agreed to be each others' "support," be it physical or regarding our education/home life. Since then, he is relentless about me giving him a second chance. He treats me with respect and I can tell he's not being fake about how he feels.