Is it wrong to date someone just so you're not alone?

So before anyone makes a judgement call on me based on my question,I'm not shallow, I swear. I'm just so tired of being single and being alone for two and half years now that I truly just want to find a way of not being alone anymore. Also I started writing this to answer the one question above but as you'll see there are underling questions from the one.

Anyways, because of this inability of being in a relationship after I graduated college, I joined a dating site. Through it I started talking to a girl who seems really nice and I honestly like her personality. So I asked if she wanted to meet up some time, which we did and ended up sitting outside talking for almost 2 hrs. Well the issue is while I wouldn't say she is unattractive, I don't see her as being my attractive (if that makes any sense). I guess to put it another way, if I saw her from across a crowed room, she wouldn't catch my eye. but like I said her personality (for the bit I know) I'm attracted to.

With that being said I have no clue what to do? Part of me wants to see her again because I want that attention that only a significant other can provide and I want to be able to dote on someone that I care about again. But part of me says I would be settling if I did so and what about if I miss the opportunity to meet "the one" because I am focusing on this person that I'm indecisive about. But then again what if I do pass her by and continue to be alone, AND I'M TIRED OF BEING ALONE!

I have no clue what to do? and so there in came the thought, " Maybe I could just go on a few dates with her just so I am not alone."

Also I found out tonight that even though we never met before (and I checked on this, and its true) her brother is friends with my friends. So if I did say this isn't going to work to her or go on dates with her just so I'm not alone I don't want my friends to look down on me because of it.