Going through a difficult time in my life, can anyone offer some useful advice or encouragement

I have no friends, I'm broke, living at home, never been financially independent, my family is feuding. I graduated from college and can't find a job, which makes me an even bigger loser because I have a degree. When I worked at a store my whole family laughed behind my back because after 4 years of good grades and hard work I still end up in retail. I'm so frustrated with myself, I don't know what to do. I've lost motivation. Can anyone offer some words of advice? I feel so alone and I don't know where to turn.

0|0
3|2

Most Helpful Girl

• Basically, a LOT of people are going through this right now. The economy is really crappy, no one will hire, furthermore they keep laying people off.

TONS of college grads are either staying home with their family or moving back in with them after graduation. The grads are looking for jobs and not finding them, having to lie and say they only have a high school diploma to get hired as a waitress or something like that, and the parents are laid off from work and also looking, making ends meet through odd jobs and temp positions.

My point is, it is NOT your fault, and it's NOT just you.

The best thing you can do, in my opinion, is work ANY job, even if it's retail, because a lot of people can't even get that. If your family laughs at you, they either don't understand what is really going on in the world right now, or they have no empathy, or both.